Political Props

7 Mar

I gush with praise for people who can craft an article about politics that is informative, interesting and minimally infuriating. It’s a gift to those of us who lack not only the interest but also the impulse control required to provide readers with a piece of journalism that contains the integrity and unbiased view of a political issue or person that it deserves.

You read that right. I believe that political issues and politicians deserve high quality and respectable coverage. I say this because there are so many people like me who NEED information about the political world delivered with minimal emotion and maximum information. My Meyers-Briggs profile is ENFP, which makes me the perfect candidate for becoming either a cult member or a political patsy. I need the facts delivered free of fiery rhetoric or emotion to distract me.

Because of all the above information, in the past I have not written, spoken or read much about politics. But a few days ago I talked a bit of politico with a life-long Republican who actually wore black for a week in order  to demonstrate her grief when Bill Clinton was elected the first time. Actually I listened more than I talked. And what I heard stunned me. This woman is planning to vote for Obama IF she votes at all.

What the WHAT?

The only thing that surprised me more this week was Rush Limbaugh’s apology for his dunderheaded comments about sluts and stuff. I mean what does a former drug addict know about being a skank? Now if he was spouting off about illegal narcotics the guy would have my ear for real! But I was talking about avoiding the politic-talk, wasn’t I?

So I got to thinking about CONSIDERING a re-visit of my avoidance of all things political and that led to my decision to seriously re-consider my stance on this avoidance and the reasons behind it. I came to the conclusion that I need to stop fearing the possibility that I’ll develop a delusional idea that my involvement and interest can actually make a shred of difference amidst the current climate of corruption and chaos that is pervasive in the American political system. I don’t use the term DELUSION in a mocking or light manner.

For me, it was a carefully chosen word to describe what I believe to be the current reality for most people my age who have lost their idealism and have become apathetic and ignorant. Exercising an attitude of indifference is an illusion I’ve attempted to perpetuate in order to distract me from my disgust and fear. I DO CARE about what happens, but the powerlessness  I feel with regard to the existing awfulness in government drives me back to my beloved fiction, professional writings and of course the celebrity smut that I LOVE ( and writing about the crazy kid stuff too). But I’m branching out!

I’m casting off my crown of cowardice and taking the plunge into the political pow-wow because my passion for health psychology and all things mentally magnificent cannot exclude this fascinating and important part of life. And if I’m being honest, when I looked at the absolutely endless amount of material the world of politicians provides in terms of dysfunction, diagnosis and debauchery, I recognized it well worth risking entertaining some delusions for the sake of entertaining education.

10 Responses to “Political Props”

  1. natalie March 7, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    I hear ya, and well said. I am one of the frustrated voiceless, without a political party let alone a candidate who I feel understands voters like me. I too stopped bothering to vote when picking the lesser of two evils (or choosing the douchebag or the turd sandwich if you follow south park) became too difficult a choice. I wish you the best of luck in this political adventure you’re embarking on.

    • nicoleknepper March 7, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      We can wander the boundaries a bit and peek in, learn and then decide. That’s where I”m going with this, Natalie. Thanks for commenting.

  2. 2ndflrresource March 7, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

    Sometimes I believe that there is a conscious effort to distract us with “all things Kardashian”, so that we do just what you described—opt out due to disgust and disillusion. The banality of what is easy to follow numbs us out to doing the actual thinking that requires action…

    Welcome back!

  3. jesterqueen March 7, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    I’m rampantly liberal, completely disgusted with all the damned rhetoric, and glad somebody besides me is getting involved. Does that sound awful? Really it’s the best I can do. I have two special needs kids, an exceedingly short tolerance for bullshit, and complete willingness to speak the truth when diplomacy would do better. Anyway, I’ll be reading with interest, because God knows I make my political views known even if it’s only on blue moons that I arrive at a political function.

    Since you asked, I turned on Madame Syntax while I was reading. (She’s an alter ego of mine). She didn’t have much to say. The writing style is extremely accessible. It’s intelligent, with well chosen words and thoughtful, complex sentence structure. Madame only saw one spot where “pervades” could replace “is pervasive in” and convert a sentence from passive to active voice. That is minutia. But you did ask.

    • nicoleknepper March 7, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

      I think I need to make friends with Madame Syntax.

    • Elaina March 8, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

      You really said it. Its too hard hard to keep up when you feel like its pointless. I think a lot of us feel that way anymore, but we can’t be ostriches either or we will be living with a leader like Putin. Can’t take the plunge into full blown BEING in the KNOW but.. “dipping my toes in”…its getting a little too weird out there to ignore

  4. dcmartin March 8, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I used to keep my political thoughts to myself, because I was taught that “you just don’t discuss politics, religion, or sex in ‘polite’ company”. Then I grew up and realized that was code for ” adults are not all that adult when the subject matter gets real”. It really is a shame when we feel more comfortable deconstructing Lindsay Lohan than we do discussing the validity of insurance coverage for birth control and how to keep our kids STD and pregnancy free (other than a hastily mumbled “don’t have sex!”).
    I look forward to hearing your political thoughts, in addition to the regular drinking and swearing!

  5. jillsmo March 9, 2012 at 2:18 am #

    I’ll try to stick with you, but I get REALLY frustrated by the anger and the rhetoric. Like… REALLY REALLY frustrated by it… maybe I’ll just read your blog and try to get all my news from you

  6. Kat Stein March 9, 2012 at 3:48 am #

    Every person from Chicago is usually well versed in politics. I have voted in every local and national election since 1972, when I was 19 and newly eligible to vote.I still take it for the complete privledge it is. I have raised 3 voting Americans. I was so proud to be in line with each of them the first time they voted, kind of like how I felt when each had learned to sign their name and could have their very own library card..Every vote counts. I always thought though that by the time “My Generation” was in control things, the political system would have improved.You do need to give your opinion.You’re a typical suburban mom.You give voice to hundreds of thousands of women in your position. I can only dream of what having internet service would have meant when I was stuck home with nothing but game shows or soap operas.That’s why we spent so much time at the library.Get them to understand that mothers united should be one of the biggest target audiences and supporters for any candidate,

  7. aejohnson March 9, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    whoa, I was just having this same struggle this week. I’ve started numerous blogs about this whole women’s health fiasco, and area I’ve worked in and around for several years. Along with my bile-in-mouth reflex to what’s spouted off by the far-right, I’m finding myself increasingly pissed off at what’s coming in on my left. I desperately seek unbiased, independent news. Like you, I’ve been shrinking back into my shell because the 20 pages of ranting I’ve started has yet to develop into a cohesive thought. But I may join you in getting my voice out there, one that is both weary and pissed with the drama of it all.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

